No signal

How often do you switch off from technology?

Our much awaited family break had finally arrived. In fact a month has passed since our trip, it’s just taken me a while to put pen to paper or words to blog!

Four days were spent at Centerparcs, staying at a lodge nestled within woodland along with an abundance of activities close at hand. Certainly my idea of heaven these days.

Ducks, squirrels and other wildlife wandered happily into the outdoor area of our accommodation, early morning and at dusk.  Alfie, who is becoming increasing curious, squealed at delight and took an interest in everything around him. What a pleasure it was to watch.

Although this paints an idyllic scene, one thing that completely threw me was not having any access to phone or the internet.  Great in theory but in practice hard, I suddenly realised how connected to technology I need to be.  It was a good test surviving four days without sending a text or checking facebook. Just being disconnected for a while.

Hubby Col and I re-discovered a couple of sports we haven’t played for years – tennis and badminton.  It brought back fun memories and a chance to see what we still enjoy.  Time in general (like for all of us)  has become so precious what with juggling work and family life, so free time tends to be taken up with activities we know we enjoy rather than experimenting.

Two new experiences for us this time round, wall climbing and messy play (the latter is for Alfie and not Col).    My attempt at wall climbing was slightly short lived as I suffered vertigo half way up.  On the other hand, watching Alfie do his messy play was so much fun and inspired me to try more creative activities with him on our return.

Holidays and breaks have definitely taken on a whole new meaning since having Alfie. Even after 18 months I still find myself learning so much about life with children (who are constantly changing!) and assessing what’s really important.  Little breaks like this just remind me not to sweat the small stuff.

I felt completely refreshed on our return, had forgotten passwords, pin codes, you name it but for once it didn’t really matter.

So enjoy switching off, living in the moment and not worrying about other’s demands.  After all you deserve it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment